AP MLC election results 2023: TDP surges ahead in graduates constituencies seats | Amaravati News

AMARAVATI: In a surprising trend, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) nominees surged ahead of YSRCP candidates in graduates’ constituencies MLC elections in Andhra Pradesh. TDP candidate Vepada Chiranjeevi Rao is leading by over 18,000 votes over his nearest rival and YSRCP-backed candidate Sithamaraju Sudhakar from north-coastal AP graduates constituency. Similarly, TDP candidate Kancharla Srikanth Chowdary was leading by over 10,000 votes against YSRCP candidate Syam Prasada Reddy in East Rayalaseema graduates constituency.
Alert with the party nominees taking lead, party supremo Chandrababu Naidu rushed to the party headquarter in Mangalagiri and spoke with the electoral officers. He requested the chief electoral officer MK Meena and district electoral officers in Visakhapatnam and Tirupati to ensure transparency and fairness in the counting of votes. He wanted the officials to be on high alert till the completion of the counting. He requested the officials to prevent the entry of unauthorized persons into the counting centres to prevent the malpractices.
It will be a big morale booster for the TDP if it could win both the seats at the end of counting. TDP state wing president K Atchnnaidu said that people have rejected YSRCP’s three-capital cities drama and development of north-coastal region with Vizag capital. TDP MLA Nandamuri Balakrishna Reddy said that the results of graduates’ constituencies would be the beginning of YSRCP’s fall. Senior TDP leader Ch Ayyanna Patrudu termed the TDP’s lead in the north coastal constituency as a big jolt to the YSRCP’s hollow promises with the executive capital city. “People proved that they are not fools. They wanted the development not promises. They are also worried about the encroachment of precious lands in Vizag once YSRCP enters the port city with capital city gamble,” said Patrudu.
Meanwhile, YSRCP candidates snatched both the MLC seats from the teachers’ constituencies in East Rayalaseema and West Rayalaseema. This is the first time for YSRCP to contest the teachers constituency elections and win. It defeated the rival nominees from PDF and APTF in stiff contest. YSRCP candidate from East Rayalaseema teachers constituency Parvathareddy Chandrasekhara Reddy defeated the rival candidate with over 2,000 votes after the counting of second preferential vote.
YSRCP candidate MV Ramachandra Reddy defeated APTF candidate Vonteru Srinivasa Reddy with just 169 votes majority after the counting of third preferential votes.
YSRCP candidate Vennapusa Ravindra Reddy was leading from West Rayalaseema graduates constituency over his TDP rival by nearly 1,500 votes. The counting of votes is expected to be completed by evening.

Source Link

- Advertisement -


Latest Updates

Trending News