Ignored For England Test Series, India Star’s Cryptic ‘Story Not Over’ Post Goes Viral

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) named the squad for the remaining three Tests of the five-match series against England on Saturday. After the team announcement, India’s out-of-favour pacer Umesh Yadav put a cryptic post on his Instagram story and fans wasted no time in relating it to the bowler being overlooked for England Tests. In the changes in the fast bowling line-up, India roped in Akash Deep, giving a maiden Test call-up to the pacer. Meanwhile, Umesh stayed out of consideration. He last played for India in June 2023, which happened to be a Test match vs Australia at The Oval.

“Kitaabon par dhool jamne se, kahaaniyan khatm nahi hoti (Stories don’t get over with dust accumulating on books,” read the Instagram story of Umesh.

See here:

Here are some of the reactions:

Star batter Virat Kohli is set to miss the remaining matches against England as well due to personal reasons. He had earlier missed the first two Tests. Now, his absence is extended to three more games. His last appearance came in the T20I series against Afghanistan earlier in January.

“Virat Kohli will remain unavailable for selection for the remainder of the series due to personal reasons. The Board fully respects and supports Mr. Kohli’s decision,” said a statement from BCCI.

Sarfaraz Khan and Rajat Patidar are also a part of the England series. The participation of batter KL Rahul and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is subject to their fitness, said BCCI.

Mohammed Shami, who had missed the first two Tests due to injury, continues to sit out. Pacer Akash Deep has also been included in the squad.

The third Test will commence on February 15 in Rajkot while the fourth Test kickstarts in Ranchi on February 23 The fifth and final Test of the series will be played in Dharamsala from March 7. The series is currently level 1-1. After a 28-run loss in the first Hyderabad Test, India won the second Test at Visakhapatnam by 106 runs.

Squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Dhruv Jurel (WK), KS Bharat (WK), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Akash Deep.

(With AFP Inputs)

Topics mentioned in this article

Source Link

- Advertisement -


Latest Updates

Trending News