Ishan Kishan Named KL Rahul’s Replacement In India’s World Test Championship Final Squad; Suryakumar Yadav In Standby List

Star wicketkeeper-batter Ishan Kishan has been named injured KL Rahul’s replacement in India’s squad for the World Test Championship final against Australia, which is set to be held from June 7-11 in England. Rahul suffered an injury to his right upper thigh while fielding during an IPL 2023 match between Lucknow Super Giants and Royal Challengers Bangalore on May 1. “After consultations with specialists, it has been decided that Rahul will undergo surgery at the earliest followed by rehab at the National Cricket Academy for the same. He is ruled out of the upcoming ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final against Australia,” the BCCI said in a release.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Ishan Kishan as KL Rahul’s replacement.” Kishan and KS Bharat are the two wicketkeepers in the squad.

There are other injury concerns too in the squad and BCCI has added three standby players – Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mukesh Kumar, Suryakumar Yadav. The Indian cricket board added that there’s uncertainty over the availability of two key pacers Jaydev Unadkat and Umesh Yadav.

“Jaydev Unadkat sustained a left shoulder injury by tripping over the side rope while bowling in the nets. A specialist consultation has been sought and the left-arm fast bowler is currently at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru undergoing strength and rehab sessions for his shoulder. A decision on his participation in the WTC final will be taken at a later stage,” the BCCI release said.

“Umesh Yadav sustained a minor left hamstring injury during Match 36 of IPL 2023 between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) on 26 April. The fast bowler is currently under the care of the KKR Medical Team and has started low-intensity bowling as part of his rehab process. The BCCI Medical Team is in regular touch with KKR Medical Team and is closely monitoring Umesh’s progress.”

India’s squad for WTC final: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Ishan Kishan (wk).

Standby players: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mukesh Kumar, Suryakumar Yadav.

Topics mentioned in this article

Source Link

- Advertisement -


Latest Updates

Trending News